Back in 2020, Instagram introduced a new feature that allows users to make their DM messages vanish some time after they were sent. In this article, we’ll talk about how you can set up the vanish mode and whether you need it at all.

What Is Vanish Mode on Instagram

Instagram Vanish Mode is a special feature that allows you to make certain messages dissapear some time after you or someone you're chatting with has sent.

How to Set Up Instagram Vanish Mode

To activate the disappearing messages mode in Instagram Direct, you need to open one of the chats and swipe up the screen. That simple!

To return to the regular mode, swipe up again.

This mode can be used continuously or enabled from time to time.

How Instagram Vanish Mode Works

Let's take a look at how disappearing messages work.

When the message has been viewed by all participants of the chat, it will disappear after the chat is closed.

Only people you’re connected to can use vanish mode with you in a chat. Vanish mode is also opt-in, so you choose whether to enter vanish mode with someone. If someone takes a screenshot of your chat while you’re using vanish mode, you’ll be notified.

Disappearing message mode applies to all chat participants. When you or someone else turns on the vanish mode, it activates for everyone else in the chat.

You can also report the messages sent in the vanish mode just like on any other DM message on Instagram.

Why Use Instagram Vanish Mode

Although the vanish mode will not hide messages sent by mistake, it can come in handy when you want your message to be not forwarded ahead or discussed forever. These vanished messages will not exist in your chat history either.

As Facebook claims, you can use the vanish mode if something you want to say at the moment without worrying about it sticking around. But note that if someone takes a screenshot of your chat while you’re using vanish mode, you’ll be notified.